Educating concerned, informed, adaptable
members of the world community

Congratulations to Cara Laverty who won the Ulster Schools’ Junior Cross Country title last week. Overall it was a very successful weekend for our Cross Country teams.

Year 10 Team

Congratulations to Cara Laverty who won the 'Ulster Schools’ Junior Cross Country' title last week.
Cara ran an excellent race timing her sprint finish perfectly, leaving her fellow competitors in no doubt that she is the best in Ulster.
As a reward for running so well Cara has been invited to run in the London Mini marathon later this year.
Cara will now defend her 2017 Irish Schools’ title in Waterford next month.

In the team event the girls put in a sterling performance finishing in fourth place ahead of twelve other schools in the Ulster Finals. Team members Amy Mullen and Erin O’Loughlin both showed excellent form, leaving enough in the tank to try and out sprint each other on the home straight.
Emma Johnson delivered a solid performance and a very strong finish. Rachel Wallace also ran well working hard throughout the race to consolidate an excellent team effort from all of the girls.


Year 13 Team

Congratulations also to Mary Cait Byrne who showed excellent form at the Cross Country Finals. Against tough opposition Mary Cait ran an impressive race qualifying comfortably for the Irish Finals in Waterford next month.



Year 8

Congratulations to Cara O’Loughlin on her outstanding run at the Championships. Cara was fearless from the whistle attacking the race with great pace and courage. She finished seventh out of a field of 120 runners confirming her position as one of the leading runners in Ulster.

In the team event the girls didn't get off to the best start with a number of them taking a tumble in the early stages of the race. But fortunately they managed to get back up onto their feet and continue running. Despite the disappointing start the team still managed to finish in fourth place ahead of twelve other schools in the Ulster Finals.
Team members:
Cara O’Loughlin, Niamh Doherty, Aimee Coyle, Aoife Clarke, Veronica O’Neill and Jasmine O’Kan


© Thornhill College 2019 / Crafted by The Mighty Zoo